top of page

Lainey Wilson Photo credit: Alysse Gafkjen

Jelly Roll Photo Credit: Ashley Osborn

Lainey Wilson and Jelly Roll top The CMA Music Awards Nominations

September 8, 2023

The nominations for the 57th annual Country Music Awards were released this morning. 

Lainey Wilson made history as the first artist in the history of the CMAs to lead nominations in her first two appearances on the final ballot.  For the second consecutive year she leads the pack with nine nominations including a nomination for the top spot as Entertainer of the Year.  Wilson is also dual nominated artist in two different categories as her songs “Heart Like a Truck,” and “wait in the truck” are both nominated for Single of the Year, while her collaborations on “wait in the truck,” with Hardy, and “Save Me” her collab with Jelly Roll are both nominated for Musical Event of the Year. 

“Being nominated in each of these categories amongst my friends means the world to me,” said Wilson. “And the coveted 'Entertainer of the Year' category?! It's absolutely surreal. We bust our butts out there on the road every dang night to give y'all the best show possible and I have the time of my life doing it."

- Entertainer of the Year
- Single of the Year (“Heart Like A Truck”)
- Single of the Year (“wait in the truck”)
- Album of the Year (Bell Bottom Country)
- Song of the Year (“Heart Like A Truck”)
- Female Vocalist of the Year
- Musical Event of the Year (“Save Me”)
- Musical Event of the Year (“wait in the truck”)
- Music Video of the Year (“wait in the truck”)

First year nominee, Jelly Roll is the leading male in the awards categories with 5 nominations which places him alongside some country greats in Garth Brooks, Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson and Maren Morris with 5 awards nods in a first appearance on the final ballot. 

"It is known as Country Music's Biggest Night," says Jelly. "It literally doesn't get any bigger than this and I have five nominations. I couldn't control myself when I got the news. The truth is being nominated is already a win for me. Just being recognized by my peers and by the industry for the work we put in is amazing, especially for my people. This is a win for all the underdogs and forgotten. These are the moments I hope my people are the most proud of. I have taken our message to the masses without compromise and I have been embraced. Thank you to the CMA's."

- Single of the Year (“Need A Favor”)
- Male Vocalist of the Year
- Musical Event of the Year (“Save Me”)
- Music Video of the Year (“Need A Favor”)
- New Artist of the Year 

Entertainer of The Year:

  • Luke Combs

  • Chris Stapleton

  • Carrie Underwood

  • Morgan Wallen

  • Lainey Wilson


Female Vocalist of the Year:

  • Kelsea Ballerini

  • Miranda Lambert

  • Ashley McBryde

  • Carly Pearce

  • Lainey Wilson


Male Vocalist of the Year:

  • Luke Combs

  • Jelly Roll

  • Cody Johnson

  • Chris Stapleton

  • Morgan Wallen

Vocal Group of the Year:

  • Lady A

  • Little Big Town  

  • Midland

  • Old Dominion

  • Zac Brown Band


Vocal Duo Of The Year:

  • Brooks & Dunn

  • Brothers Osborne  

  • Dan + Shay

  • Maddie & Tae

  • The War And Treaty


Single of the Year:

  • “Fast Car”; Luke Combs; Producer: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathon Singleton; Mix Engineer: Chip Matthews

  • “Heart Like A Truck”; Lainey Wilson; Producer: Jay Joyce; Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

  • “Need A Favor”; Jelly Roll; Producer: Austin Nivarel; Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun

  • “Next Thing You Know”; Jordan Davis; Producer: Paul DiGiovanni; Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley

  • “Wait In The Truck”; Hardy f/Lainey Wilson; Producers: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells; Mix Engineer: Joey Moi


Album of the Year:

  • Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville; Producers: John Osborne, John Peets; Mix Engineers: Gena Johnson, John Osborne

  • Bell Bottom Country; Lainey Wilson; Producer: Jay Joyce; Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce

  • Gettin’ Old; Luke Combs; Producers Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton; Mix Engineers: Michael H. Brauer, Jim Cooley, Chip Matthews

  • One Thing At A Time; Morgan Wallen Producers: Jacob Durrett, Charlie Handsome, Joey Moi, Cameron Montgomery Mix Engineers: Josh Ditty, Joey Moi, Eivind Nordland

  • Rolling Up the Welcome Mat; Kelsea Ballerini Producers: Kelsea Ballerini, Alysa Vanderheym; Mix Engineers: Dan Grech-Marguerat, Alysa Vanderheym


Song of the Year:

  • “Fast Car”; Songwriter: Tracy Chapman

  • “Heart Like A Truck”; Songwriters: Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Lainey Wilson

  • “Next Thing You Know”; Songwriters: Jordan Davis, Greylan James, Chase McGill, Josh Osborne

  • “Tennessee Orange”; Songwriters: David Fanning, Paul Jenkins, Megan Moroney, Ben Williams

  • “Wait In The Truck”; Songwriters: Renee Blair, Michael Hardy, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt


Musical Event Of The Year:

  • “Save Me”; Jelly Roll w/Lainey Wilson; Producers: Zach Crowell, David Ray Stevens

  • “She Had Me At Heads Carolina (Remix)” Cole Swindell & Jo Dee Messina; Producer: Zach Crowell

  • “Thank God”; Kane Brown w/Katelyn Brown; Producer: Dann Huff

  • “Wait In The Truck”; Hardy f/Lainey Wilson; Producers: Hardy, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells

  • “We Don’t Fight Anymore”; Carly Pearce f/Chris Stapleton; Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Carly Pearce


New Artist of the Year:

  • Zach Bryan

  • Jelly Roll

  • Parker McCollum

  • Megan Moroney

  • Hailey Whitters


Musician of the Year:

  • Jenee Fleenor

  • Paul Franklin

  • Rob McNelley

  • Derek Wells

  • Charlie Worsham


Music Video of the Year

  • “Light On In The Kitchen”; Ashley McBryde; Director: Reid Long

  • “Memory Lane”; Old Dominion; Directors: Mason Allen, Nicki Fletcher

  • “Need A Favor”; Jelly Roll; Director: Patrick Tohill

  • “Next Thing You Know”; Jordan Davis; Director: Running Bear

  • “Wait In The Truck”; Hardy f/Lainey Wilson; Director: Justin Clough


The 57th CMA Awards, hosted by Luke Bryan and Peyton Manning, will air live from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena November 8th at 8pm ET/7pm CT on ABC.

bottom of page